there’s an awful lot of……

cripes stripes
cripes stripes

It was one of those weekends where you read (Eucalyptus again) sleep, garden and have a think about summer clothes.

An estimate of my clothes indicates that 5% of them (and those were bought generally about 5 years ago) are made in New Zealand (or Australia). They are, I have to say, better quality than the rest, most of which have a Made in China label on them.

I imagine that there are a hell of a lot of people in China right now wearing variations of stripes (yes I bought this cheaply online about 2 months ago).

Time I reckon to consider more carefully what I buy. I’m old enough to remember the days (often fraught, alas) when we sewed our own clothes, coveted Burda patterns (way too complex for me) and Vogue (easier) and wore materials that lasted.

Ah, the good old days. Do I want them back? No (sewing was not my forte) but something in between: quality materials, quality clothes that aren’t easily dumped.

There’s a lot of stuff in the world.

Leave a Reply

