the old town looked the same

Piano, downtown Hamilton
Piano, downtown Hamilton

Actually it didn’t. It looked seedy as the recession hits and all the shops seem to have moved north to the Base. At 10.00 am there were homeless people emerging from their doorways and, surprisingly, they are Maori.

I gather that the local residents asked that they not be moved along as at least Garden Place was safe had shelter and had video cameras about. Good on the locals, I say.

It was wet and cold and miserable and I was glad I had my 3 Wellington layers on as I walked to see Mr Pip. About which more later.

In Victoria Street this old, untuned piano waiting to be played by passers-by, said it all. In a manner of speaking of course.

Leave a Reply

