customer service

Unity Books
Unity Books

Many many years ago I took it upon myself to try to change the (then) unhelpful behaviour of drycleaners in Wellington. I failed. It’s weird to think how much I used drycleaners. It was the 1980s.

In the early 1990s I took it upon myself to try to stop dairy owners calling me ‘dear’. I also failed. But I did have another attempt this summer in Auckland. I failed. I bite my tongue when young things ask me “what was the name?” It’s a weird question. Meant to be polite. One day I’ll snap and say something cutting and nasty.

I have given up expecting booksellers in places like Whitcoulls and PaperPlus to know what I am talking about.

And so to Unity.

The wise and helpful young woman had many good suggestions for books I might read and agreed that T.C. Boyle was pretty fabulous.

And so I left with several books in my bag.

I can’t quite get the Kindle reader thing yet. Maybe I will. And while the local library has a wonderful collection of books it was great to stagger home with a few new ones. For me. Besides, intelligent customer service needs to be rewarded.

Previous Unity post.

Leave a Reply

