music and sound

While I can’t claim to be a dancer I do know how frustrating it is to have a foot (and at times hip) that won’t do what you want it to do with elegance and style on the tango floor. I’m also fond of music so the book The train in the night: A story of music and loss was bound to make it to my book bag.

And yes, I loved it. There were many connections: Cambridge, one of the few English cities I have a passing acquaintance with, the music of Genesis and Yes, with bits of Dylan and Mozart and of course Bob Marley and Marvin Gaye, not forgetting Miles Davis and John Coltrane. But I also loved Nick Coleman’s writing and the wry, self-deprecating story of the loss of his hearing in one ear, the subsequent internal noise due to tinnitus and the associated loss of balance and continual nausea caused by a kind of inner ear malfunction.

Oh and the presence of Lulu (not the singer) and his wife Jane.

A great read.

Leave a Reply

