songs to travel with

In the 1970s when I travelled (long before internet, ipods and even walkmen) Joni’s Blue was the album that accompanied me. I knew every song and every song had a personal meaning for me.

Now I’m replaying it in my car. And I still love it.

In the 1990s I travelled to the U S of A accompanied by Paul Simon’s Graceland on walkman. It too, resonated.

But now I’m back to Joni. Such longing for home. Such joy – ‘Carey get out your cane’, and cynicism….’…there were lots of pretty people there, reading Rolling Stone, reading Vogue’

Sigh

One thought on “songs to travel with

  1. For me, Paul Simon’s Graceland is a one-room bach by Lake Kaniere, inland from Hokitika, and one of the most formative times of my life, I’m not sure I could play it now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

