boys, boys, they’re no fun

http://locallytoned.wordpress
While I was hanging out recently with G and E (also B, B, E and R) we happened upon clapping games.

E entertained her grandmother and myself (see post for previous ref). She made a pact with me: I would learn Cinderella and then she would demonstrate (again and oh yes please, again) Apple on a Stick. Of course G and I had to reminisce about our school games: marbles, french skipping (also known as elastics), skipping, four square and hopscotch.

Anyway! I looked up Apple on stick and of course there are several versions. E’s went a bit like this:

Apple on a stick
Makes me sick
Makes my heart beat ‘2-4-6’
Not because you’re dirty
Not because you’re clean
Not because you kissed a boy
Behind a magazine
Boys, boys they’re no fun
Here comes one with a pickle up his bum
He can dance (?)
He can do the splits
Betcha ya $5
He can’t do this
Close your eyes
and count to ten
If you muck it up
You gotta start again
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
We didn’t muck it up
And now we’re friends

Apologies to E if it’s not quite right.

Cinderella, btw which B also attempted to teach me goes a bit like this: Cinderella, dressed in yella, ate a snake, tastes like cake, now she has a tummy ache. Hmmmm that’s not quite right either but I reckon B or E might have another go at teaching me. Maybe.

Check this for another version. http://www.kidsplaybook.com/?p=569
Oh and check this website. Interesting survey of racism too! http://www.odps.org

E also showed us My mother and you can find versions on the net. E’s goes ‘girls have a shower to get more power.’ I like it.

I intended my next post to be about the nature of narcissists and sociopaths on the ‘net but this is much more fun.

Leave a Reply

