but words are all

I occurred to be that I was being disingenuous about words. Of course I believe that words are powerful things. And have the ability to hurt, to categorise, and to distance as well as to draw others close and create groups and shape identities. To express our thoughts and to laugh.

And of course I know the works of Robin Lakoff and her discussions on how words are used to categorise women. (yes ok Language and Woman’s Place is an elderly book by now). And of course I know how “terrorists” and “guerilla” and all those other words work and how “embedding” became the significant word for the wars of the 1990s.

So I’ll shut up – for a while.

Leave a Reply

