tango break

I recently had a tango break – inspired on by an unhappy liaison with an unsuitable man, that bit of learning something new when you think you have it but you don’t, and winter blues. But on Thursday I returned to a class and as I walked out I thought about all the times in my life when dancing has been a salvation.

Ballet as a child

Dance classes in Amsterdam where I was always a bit behind the rest of the class due to needing to translate. Wild dancing in Greece and here in Wellington where we used to attend the Greek dances, a great night out in Amsterdam last year with an old friend. And I got to thinking about my old (she is by now) dance teacher Shona Dunlop/MacTavish.

This image is taken from the website: http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/artsonsunday/20100620 and I probably should not have taken it, but thanks Radio NZ.

She was, and still is, an inspiration. Last spotted by a friend in the Dunedin swimming pool doing elevations at the age of 90 and explaining that she could only do them in the water now.

Not only was her dancing fairly advanced for the times (dancing in churches in the 1960s in Dunedin was an new concept for the Presbyterians, and her style was free with attention to execution, her choreography beautiful and poignant) she was and is a lively mind always ready to explore new things and to laugh.

A good woman who led me to explore forms of dance. Not enough, in retrospect, but satisfying.

Leave a Reply

