you learn some, you forget some

Well it’s over. My first ever tango festival.

What did I learn? I learned most importantly that I adore nuevo tango and that even with sore hip and shonky foot and an understanding partner I can cut up the floor like nobody’s business.

What else did I learn? I learned about connection and finding the heart of tango. I listened to music. I learned about navigating the floor. I learned that New Zealanders are a little stiff about music and dance. I remembered that the Wellington community of dancers is very nice and that having good mates to dance with is fabulous and a gift of generosity. I learned that I can live in a house with dishes piled up, clothes all over the floor and mess everywhere.

I learned that connection and good friends are the most important thing in life.

I learned that good shoes are important.

I learned that dance is the best way to move, be alive and be yourself.

See? I learned a lot.

What do I think? I think that one day I might be able to dance in these expensive shoes.

One thought on “you learn some, you forget some

Leave a Reply

