Melanzanes mmmmm

It would be tedious to account for all the food I ate in Italy and or Greece (as well as one or two fish dishes in England) but prawns featured high on the list in Southern Italy along, of course, with pizza, gelato and delicious cakes made with strawberries. There was also a very nice morning tea in Amalfi with the full service – napkins, silver service and delicious lemon cakes.

P1000172

The key dish of the whole experience would have to be melanzanes. I had forgotten how fabulous this plant was, partly because when I use it in Aotearoa it’s plain old egg plant or aubergine and I biff it into ratatouille or fry it in flour. I know it sounds disgusting but it has its charm.

I first (re) encountered this dish when I wandered off the beaten track in Rome, then again in Rome. It was just quite plain with um I have no idea what else. The first trial was with a beef steak I think. I found it again in Naples (its native place I think) with a ragout and I talked about it in Piacenza. The final taste was in Athens, after an entree of grilled haloumi cheese and with a Greek salad.

So, while not wanting to emulate another blog, here’s a brief outline of this fabulous dish.

You’ll find the whole deal here: About.com who say:

In introducing this greatest of Neapolitan dishes, Ms. Francesconi tells of going to a wonderful restaurant on the Isle of Ischia, long before it was taken over by hoards of tourists, to enjoy the Pirozzi Sisters’ Eggplant Parmesan

OK these are the ingredients.

4 pounds eggplant
Olive oil for frying
2 1/2 pounds ripe tomatoes, blanched, peeled and chopped
A small piece of onion, minced
Abundant basil
3/4 pound fresh mozzarella (buffalo milk if possible)
2 eggs
1/2 cup grated Parmigiano
Pepper

Generally you shush it about and bake it but I’ll leave you to read the real recipe. OK I’ll never emulate that other blog.

It’s a fabulous dish…..and no pix until next year when the melanzanes are out and I have the creative urge to cook this great dish. mmmmmmmm

This was created on my new imac.

2 thoughts on “Melanzanes mmmmm

Leave a Reply

