Sigh

I am currently in a small town called Piacenza which, after south Italy, is heaven. I cannot do photos but my memory sticks on:

The setting for Novecento, Verdi’s birthplace, the landscape, the paintings, the duomos…..the people.

In Milano groups of Armani clad men turning to take a second look. Was it because I was head to toe Kathmandu? Was it the stick? Was it something else or perhaps somethings else?

La Scala and the expensive gelato in the bar beside La Scala………Northern Italy and Southern Italy could be two different places……

And tomorrow I go to Athens with a sense of irony. Thirty years ago I was in Italy with my heart in Greece and this time I’ll go to Greece with my heart in Italy.

Ain’t life interesting?

Ciao for now.

Leave a Reply

